Restoring Hanna’s Close
In 1996 work began to restore Hanna's Close which was nestled in the Mourne countryside. It is a 'clachan' consisting of seven charming cottages beside the Kilkeel River. This cluster of cottages were built in the 1600s by the Hanna's who came to Ireland from Scotland around 1640. The dwellings were all built close together with only one door facing into the close and a few small windows at the back. This was to protect them from attacks. The Close is situated in the townland of Aughnahoory and in 1860 there were eight families of Hanna's living in the Close. The cottage were carefully restored and cared for, making them the perfect spot to visit to get a taste of the olden days and olden ways in Mourne. They now have all the rustic charm and character of the past yet still have all the modern amenities required such as central heating, open fires, electric cookers and washing machines.